World Soundtrack Awards 2019 – Winners Announced


Every year the World Soundtracks Awards are being held in Ghent, Belgium during “Film Fest Gent”. These awards are considered very important in the film music industry. The award ceremony was held on October 18, 2019, during a concert with Marco Beltrami as the main guest.

Below is the overview of nominees of all the awards, where the winners are marked in bold.

Film Composer of the Year

  • Nicholas Britell: If Beale Street Could Talk, Vice
  • Daniel Pemberton: Yesterday, Spider-Man: Into The Spiderverse, Scarborough
  • John Powell: How to train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
  • Alan Silvestri: Avengers: Endgame, Welcome to Marwen
  • Benjamin Wallfisch: Hellboy, Shazam!, Serenity, King of Thieves, The Vanishing, The Darkest Minds

Television Composer of the Year

  • Kris Bowers: When They See Us (Season 1), For the People (Season 2), Black Monday (Season 1), Warriors of Liberty City (Season 1)
  • Ramin Djawadi: Game of Thrones (Season 8), Jack Ryan (Season 1)
  • Murray Gold: Years and Years (Season 1), Gentleman Jack (Season 1)
  • Hildur Guðnadóttir: Chernobyl, Ófærð (Season 2)
  • Jeff Russo: Legion (Season 3), The InBetween (Season 1), The Act (Season 1), The Umbrella Academy (Season 1), Star Trek: Discovery (Season 2), Counterpart (Season 2), Channel Zero (Season 4), Snowfall (Season 2)

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Krzysztof Penderecki
  •  Frédéric Devreese 

Public Choice Award

  • Khaled Mouzanar: Capernaum
  • Pinar Toprak: Captain Marvel
  • John Powell: How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
  • Matthieu Lamboley: Minuscules: Les Mandibules Du Bout Du Monde
  • Diego Baldenweg, Nora Baldenweg & Lionel Baldenweg: Zwingli

Discovery of the Year

  • Michael Abels: Us
  • Segun Akinola: The Last Tree
  • Kris Bowers: Green Book
  • Anne Chmelewsky: Where Hands Touch
  • Disasterpeace: Under the Silver Lake

SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young International Composer

  • Pierre Charles
  • Yu-peng Chen
  • Zuzana Michlerová

Best Original Score for a Belgian Production

  • Frédéric Vercheval: Duelles
  • Soulsavers: Un Ange
  • Jorrit Kleijnen & Alexander Reumers: Niet Schieten

Best Original Song written directly for a Film

  • “Requiem for a Private War” from A Private War; written & performed by Annie Lennox
  • “Shallow” from A Star is Born; written by Lady Gaga, Andrew Wyatt, Anthony Rossomando, Mark Ronson; performed by Lady Gaga, Bradley Cooper
  • “Sunflower” from Spider-man: Into the Spider-Verse; written by Swae Lee (as Khalif Brown), Louis Bell, Post Malone (as Austin Post), Billy Walsh (as William Walsh), Carter Lang, Carl Rosen performed by Post Malone, Swae Lee
  • “The Place Where Lost Things Go” from Mary Poppins Returns; written by Marc Shaiman, Scott Wittman performed by Emily Blunt
  • “When a Cowboy Trades his Spurs for Wings” from The Ballad of Buster Scruggs; written by David Rawlings, Gillian Welch performed by Willie Watson, Tim Blake Nelson

Congratulations to all the winners, but also salutations to the other nominees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *