World Soundtrack Awards 2017 – Winners Announced

WSAEvery year the World Soundtracks Awards are being held in Ghent, Belgium during “Film Fest Gent”. These awards are considered very important in the film music industry. The award ceremony was held during a concert dedicated to jazz music used in films.

Below is the overview of nominees of all the awards, where the winners are marked in bold.

Film Composer of the Year 2017

  • Dustin O’Halloran: Lion, In the Shadow of Iris
  • Mica Levi: Jackie, Marjorie Prime
  • Johann Johannsson: Arrival
  • Justin Hurwitz: La La Land
  • Nicholas Britell: Moonlight

Television Composer of the Year 2017

  • Mac Quayle: Feud: Bette and Joan, Mr. Robot, Scream Queens
  • Dave Porter: Better Call Saul, The Blacklist, The Blacklist: Redemption
  • Rupert Gregson-Williams: The Crown
  • Ramin Djawadi: Westworld, Prison Break: Resurrection, The Strain
  • Kylie Dixon & Michael Stein: Stranger Things

Lifetime Achievement Award 2017

  • David Shire

Public Choice Award 2017

  • Michael Wandmacher: Voice from the Stone
  • Alejandro Vivas: El jugador de ajedrez
  • A. R. Rahman: Viceroy’s House
  • Diego Navarro: Pasaje al amanecer
  • Johann Johannsson: Arrival

Discovery of the Year 2017

  • Dustin O’Halloran: Lion
  • Rael Jones: My Cousin Rachel
  • Dan Jones: Lady Macbeth
  • Nicholas Britell: Moonlight
  • Michael Abels: Get Out

SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young International Composer 2017

  • Jim David van der Panne
  • Andrea Grant
  • Gavin Brivik

Best Original Score for a Belgian Production 2017

  • Jef Neve: Sprakeloos
  • Johnny Jewel: Home
  • Jean-Luc Fafchamps: Insyriated

Best Original Song written directly for a Film 2017

  • Pharrell Williams: Hidden Figures
  • Sia Furler & Greg Kurstin : Lion
  • Lin-Manuel Miranda: Moana
  • Justin Hurwitz: La La Land
  • Justin Timberlake, Max Martin & Shellback: Trolls

Congratulations to all the winners, but also salutations to the other nominees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *