World Soundtrack Awards 2022 – Winners Announced


Every year the World Soundtracks Awards are held in Ghent, Belgium during “Film Fest Gent”. These awards are considered very important in the film-music industry. The award ceremony was held during the World Soundtrack Awards Gala on October 22, 2022.

Below is the overview of nominees for all the awards, where the winners are marked in bold.

Film Composer of the Year

  • Germaine Franco – Encanto
  • Jonny Greenwood – The Power of the Dog, Spencer
  • Daniel Hart – The Green Knight, The Last Letter from Your Lover
  • Alberto Iglesias – Parallel Mothers
  • Daniel Pemberton – The Rescue, Being the Ricardos, The Bad Guys, Brian and Charles
  • Hans Zimmer – Dune, No Time to Die, The Survivor

Television Composer of the Year

  • Nicholas Britell – Succession (Season 3)
  • Natalie Holt & John Williams – Obi-Wan Kenobi
  • Jung Jae-il – Squid Game
  • Hesham Nazih – Moon Knight
  • Theodore Shapiro – Severance
  • Cristobal Tapia de Veer – The White Lotus

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Bruno Coulais

Public Choice Award

  • 14 Peaks: Nothing Is Impossible – Nainita Desai
  • Charlotte – Michelino Bisceglia
  • Gunpowder Milkshake – Frank Ilfman
  • The Ice Age Adventures of Buck Wild – Batu Sener
  • The King’s Daughter – Joseph Metcalfe, John Coda, Grant Kirkhope

Discovery of the Year

  • Karl Frid – Pleasure
  • Eiko Ishibashi – Drive My Car
  • Son Lux – Everything Everywhere All at Once
  • Maurizio Malagnini – Coppelia
  • Isobel Waller-Bridge – Munich: The Edge of War

SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young International Composer

  • John Konsolakis
  • Giacomo Rita
  • Robert Wallace

Best Original Song

  • “Blome Swete Lilie Flour” from The Green Knight – written by Daniel Hart – performed by Daniel Hart
  • “Hold My Hand” from Top Gun: Maverick – written by Bloodpop and Stefani Germanotta – performed by Lady Gaga
  • “Just Look Up” from Don’t Look Up – written by Nicholas Britell, Ariana Grande, Scott “Kid Cudi” Mescudi and Taura Stinson – performed by Ariana Grande and Kid Cudi
  • “No Time To Die” from No Time to Die – written by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell – performed by Billie Eilish
  • “Strange Game” from Slow Horses – written by Daniel Pemberton and Mick Jagger – performed by Mick Jagger
  • “We Don’t Talk About Bruno” from Encanto – written by Lin-Manuel Miranda – performed by Adassa, Carolina Gaitán – La Gaita, Diane Guerrero, Encanto – cast, Mauro Castillo, Rhenzy Feliz, Stephanie Beatriz

Congratulations to all the winners and the other nominees who can be proud of their nominations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *