World Soundtrack Awards 2020 – Winners Announced


Every year the World Soundtracks Awards are being held in Ghent, Belgium during “Film Fest Gent”. These awards are considered very important in the film music industry. The award ceremony was held during their online event on October 24, 2020, because of COVID-19

Below is the overview of nominees of all the awards, where the winners are marked in bold.

Film Composer of the Year

  • Alexandre Desplat – Little Women, J’accuse, Adults in the Room
  • Hildur Guðnadóttir – Joker
  • Thomas Newman – 1917
  • Benjamin Wallfisch – It Chapter Two, The Invisible Man
  • John Williams – Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Television Composer of the Year

  • Lorne Balfe – His Dark Materials
  • Nathan Barr – The Great, Hollywood, Carnival Row
  • Nicholas Britell – Succession (season 2)
  • Carter Burwell – The Morning Show
  • Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross – Watchmen

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Gabriel Yared 

Public Choice Award

  • Alfonso G. Aguilar – Klaus
  • Hannes De Maeyer – Torpedo
  • John Powell – The Call of the Wild
  • Lolita Ritmanis – Blizzard of Souls
  • Joep Sporck – Kruimeltje

Discovery of the Year

  • Dascha Dauenhauer, Berlin Alexanderplatz
  • Bryce Dessner, The Two Popes
  • Tom Howe, A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
  • Daniel Lopatin, Uncut Gems
  • Christopher Willis, The Personal History of David Copperfield

SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young International Composer

  • Hamish Ander
  • Louis Edlinger
  • Ana Kasrashvili

Best Original Score for a Belgian Production

  • Vincent Cahay, Adoration
  • Hannes De Maeyer, Torpedo
  • Mauro Pawlowski, Cleo

Best Original Song

  • ‘I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away’, Toy Story 4 – Randy Newman
  • ‘(I’m Gonna) Love Myself Again’, Rocketman – Elton John & Bernie Taupin
  • ‘Into The Unknown’, Frozen II – Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez
  • ‘One Little Soldier’, Bombshell – Regina Spektor
  • ‘Stand Up’, Harriet – Joshuah Brian Campbell & Cynthia Erivo

Congratulations to all the winners, but also the other nominees can be proud of their nominations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *