2021 IFMCA Awards nominations announced

The International Film Music Critics Association has announced its list of nominees for the 18th annual IFMCA Awards. We have been announcing their awards for years, but this year it is quite special since Soundtrack World was involved in the voting process for the first time. You can find the full list of nominees below, and if you want to know more about the awards and the nominees, you can find more information in the official press release.

Film Score of the Year

  • Coppelia – Maurizio Malagnini
  • Dune – Hans Zimmer
  • The Green Knight – Daniel Hart
  • Jungle Cruise – James Newton Howard
  • The Last Duel – Harry Gregson-williams

Film Composer of the Year

  • Panu Aaltio
  • Nicholas Britell
  • Jonny Greenwood
  • James Newton Howard
  • Hans Zimmer

Breakthrough Composer of the Year

  • Amie Doherty
  • Stephanie Economou
  • Oscar Martín Leanizbarrutia
  • Arthur Sharpe
  • Raphaelle Thibaut

Film Music Composition of the Year

  • “Arachnoverture” from Spider-man: No Way Home – Michael Giacchino
  • “Claret, Tema Principal” from Claret – Oscar Martín Leanizbarrutia
  • “The Final Battle” from My Country, My Parents [Wo He Wo De Fubei] – Gordy Haab
  • “Grand Finale” from Coppelia – Maurizio Malagnini
  • “Riddles” from Buckley’s Chance -Christopher Gordon

Best Original Score for a Drama Film

  • Buckley’s Chance – Christopher Gordon
  • The Curse of Turandot [Tulanduo: Mozhou Yuanqi] – Simon Franglen
  • The Last Duel – Harry Gregson-williams
  • The Power of the Dog – Jonny Greenwood
  • Spencer, Music by Jonny Greenwood

Best Original Score for a Comedy Film

  • Cruella – Nicholas Britell
  • Délicieux – Christophe Julien
  • Don’t Look Up – Nicholas Britell
  • The French Dispatch – Alexandre Desplat
  • The Potato Venture [Peruna] – Panu Aaltio

Best Original Score for an Action/Adventure/Thriller Film

  • Gunpowder Milkshake – Frank Ilfman
  • Jungle Cruise – James Newton Howard
  • The King’s Man – Matthew Margeson and Dominic Lewis
  • Last Night in Soho – Steven Price
  • No Time to Die – Hans Zimmer

Best Original Score for a Fantasy/Science Fiction/Horror Film

  • Coppelia – Maurizio Malagnni
  • Dune, Music by Hans Zimmer
  • Ghostbusters: Afterlife – Rob Simonsen
  • The Green Knight – Daniel Hart
  • Spider-man: No Way Home – Michael Giacchino

Best Original Score for an Animated Feature

Best Original Score for a Documentary

  • The Arctic: Our Last Great Wilderness -Alex Heffes
  • Julia – Rachel Portman
  • A Perfect Planet – Ilan Eshkeri
  • Qinghai: Our National Park [Qinghai: Women De Guojia Gongyuan] – Chad Cannon
  • Tale of the Sleeping Giants [tunturin Tarina] – Panu Aaltio

Best Original Score for Television

Best Original Score for a Video Game or Interactive Media

  • Ark: Genesis Part II – Gareth Coker
  • Call of Duty: Vanguard – Bear Mccreary
  • Ghost of Tsushima: Iki Island & Legends – Chad Cannon and Bill Hemstapat, Theme by Ilan Eshkeri
  • Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy – Richard Jacques
  • Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart – Mark Mothersbaugh and Wataru Hokoyama

Best New Archival Release – Re-release or Re-recording

  • The Diary of Anne Frank – Alfred Newman (La-la Land)
  • The Eiger Sanction – John Williams (Intrada)
  • Legend – Jerry Goldsmith (Music Box/Silva Screen)
  • Lionheart – Jerry Goldsmith (Varèse Sarabande)
  • The Tamarind Seed – John Barry (Silva Screen)

Best New Archival Release – Compilation

  • The Film Scores of Bernard Herrmann – Bernard Herrmann (Phase 4/deutsche Grammophon)
  • Gabriel Yared: Music for Film – Gabriel Yared (Silva Screen/Film Fest Gent)
  • Pedro Almodóvar & Alberto Iglesias Film Music Collection – Alberto Iglesias (Quartet/el Deseo)
  • The Pink Panther Final Chapters Collection – Henry Mancini (Prospero Classical)

Film Music Record Label of the Year

  • Intrada, Douglass Fake and Roger Feigelson
  • La-la Land Records, Mv Gerhard and Matt Verboys
  • Moviescore Media, Mikael Carlsson
  • Music Box, Cyril Durand-roger and Laurent Lafarge
  • Quartet Records, José M. Benitez

The International Film Music Critics Association will announce the winners of the 18th IFMCA Awards LIVE on the IFMCA YouTube channel on February 17, 2022.


  • Anton Smit

    Anton is the editor-in-chief and founder of Soundtrack World. After writing about film music occasionally, he thought it was time to create his own site to celebrate music from film but also other media. Next to working on this website, Anton is a member of the International Film Music Critics Association, has a job in IT and plays the tuba in a local orchestra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *