2022 IFMCA Awards nominations announced

The International Film Music Critics Association has announced its list of nominees for the 19th edition of the IFMCA Awards. These awards are very dear to me as the editor-in-chief of this site since I am involved in the selection process for these nominees for the second time. This year, the IFMCA also made some changes to their awards because it is the first time that soundtracks for television and video games are eligible to win Score of the Year and Composer of the Year. Another exciting surprise is to see a Flemish and a Dutch score on the list with Onze Natuur from Dirk Brossé and Wolf from Matthijs Kieboom, both in the category for Best Documentary. You can find the list of nominees below, and if you want to know more about the awards and the nominees, you can find more information in the official press release.

Score of the Year

Composer of the Year

  • Alexandre Desplat
  • Simon Franglen
  • Michael Giacchino
  • Bear Mccreary
  • Daniel Pemberton

Breakthrough Composer of the Year

  • Michelino Bisceglia
  • Robin Carolan and Sebastian Gainsborough
  • Chanda Dancy
  • Hesham Nazih
  • Batu Sener

Composition of the Year

  • “Galadriel” from The Lord Of The Rings: The Rings Of Power – Bear McCreary
  • “Leaving Home (Hometree)” from Avatar: The Way Of Water – Simon Franglen
  • “Mother and Son” from The Fabelmans – John Williams
  • “Númenor” from The Lord Of The Rings: The Rings Of Power – Bear McCreary
  • “Sailing Into the Dawn” from The Lord Of The Rings: The Rings Of Power – Bear McCreary
  • “The Batman” from The Batman – Michael Giacchino

Note: there are six nominees in this category due to a tie between the nominees in fifth

Best Original Score for a Drama Film

  • Amsterdam – Daniel Pemberton
  • Babylon – Justin Hurwitz
  • Emily – Abel Korzeniowski
  • The Fabelmans – John Williams
  • Le Temps De Secrets – Philippe Rombi

Best Original Score for a Comedy Film

  • Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery – Nathan Johnson
  • The Lost City – Pinar Toprak
  • The Lost King – Alexandre Desplat
  • A Man Called Otto – Thomas Newman
  • See How They Run – Daniel Pemberton

Best Original Score for an Action/Adventure Film

  • The Batman – Michael Giacchino
  • Enola Holmes 2 – Daniel Pemberton
  • The Northman – Robin Carolan and Sebastian Gainsborough
  • Supermarsu 2 [Super Furball Saves The Future] – Panu Aaltio
  • Violent Night – Dominic Lewis

Best Original Score For A Fantasy/Science Fiction Film

Best Original Score for a Horror/Thriller Film

  • Los Renglones Torcidos De Dios – Fernando Velázquez
  • The Menu – Colin Stetson
  • Nope – Michael Abels
  • Pearl – Tyler Bates and Timothy Williams
  • Werewolf By Night – Michael Giacchino

Best Original Score for an Animated Film

  • The Bad Guys – Daniel Pemberton
  • Guillermo Del Toro’s Pinocchio – Alexandre Desplat
  • Lightyear – Michael Giacchino
  • Paws Of Fury: The Legend Of Hank – Bear Mccreary
  • Strange World – Henry Jackman

Best Original Score for a Documentary

  • Frozen Planet II – Hans Zimmer Adam Lukas and James Everingham
  • Onze Natuur [Our Nature] – Dirk Brossé
  • Polar Bear – Harry Gregson-Williams
  • Secrets Of The Sea – Alan Williams
  • Wolf – Matthijs Kieboom

Best Original Score for Television

Best Original Score for a Video Game or Interactive Media

  • Cat Burglar – Christopher Willis
  • The Faith Of The Three Kingdoms – Shigeru Umebayashi and Chad Cannon
  • God Of War: Ragnarök – Bear Mccreary
  • Mario + Rabbids: Sparks Of Hope – Yōko Shimomura, Grant Kirkhope and Gareth Coker
  • A Plague Tale: Requiem – Olivier Derivière

Best Archival Release

  • Amistad – John Williams (La-La Land)
  • Black Patch/The Man – Jerry Goldsmith (Intrada)
  • Frenzy – Ron Goodwin And Henry Mancini (Quartet)
  • The Godfather – Nino Rota (La-La Land)
  • Goldsmith At 20th, Vol 5: Music For Television 1968-1975 – Jerry Goldsmith (La-La Land)
  • John Williams: The Berlin Concert – John Williams (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • L. A. Confidential – Jerry Goldsmith (Varese Sarabande)
  • The Magnificent Seven Collection – Elmer Bernstein (Quartet)
  • Mary, Queen Of Scots – John Barry (Quartet)
  • Willow – James Horner (Intrada)

Film Music Record Label of the Year

  • Intrada Records, Douglass Fake and Roger Feigelson
  • La-La Land Records, Mv Gerhard and Matt Verboys
  • Moviescore Media, Mikael Carlsson
  • Music Box Records, Cyril Durand-Roger And Laurent Lafarge
  • Quartet Records, Jose M. Benitez

The International Film Music Critics Association will announce the winners of the 19th IFMCA Awards LIVE on the IFMCA YouTube channel on February 23, 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *